Court sentences 11 internet fraudsters in PH
Court sentences 11 internet fraudsters in PH
Court sentences 11 internet fraudsters in PH
Aerial view of Rivers State<br />
Justice Adamu Turaki Mohammed of the Federal High Court sitting in Port Harcourt has convicted and sentenced 11 internet fraudsters to various prison terms.
The convicts were prosecuted by the Benin Zonal Office of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) for offences bordering on impersonation and obtaining by false pretense.

Those convicted were Anhwo Samson, Harry Omo-egbekun Hamilton, Odiase Martins, Okuson Godspower, Destiny Ighalo, Andrew Onoyoa, Omebu Happy, Enofe Michael, Adelakun Abdulkareem, Akpowowo Favour and Imaah Joseph.

They all pleaded guilty to a one-count charge each preferred against them by the commission.

In view of their pleas, the prosecution counsel, Ahmed Arogha, prayed the court to convict and sentence the defendants accordingly.

However, John Okhuihievbe and O.A. Egharevba, counsel to the defendants, pleaded with the court to temper justice with mercy as the defendants were first time offenders who had become remorseful.

Justice Mohammed convicted and sentenced all the defendants to various terms of imprisonment. Samson bagged two-year imprisonment or a fine of N200,000. He is also to forfeit N3,684,439.18 to the Federal Government, while Ighalo got two-year imprisonment or a fine of 500,000. Ighalo is to forfeit a Luxus SUV 330 model, laptops and phones to the Federal Government.

Andrew Onoyoa was sentenced to three-year imprisonment or a fine of N1 million. He is also to forfeit Luxus 230 SUV and a Toyota Camry car to the government.

The other defendants Godspower, Happy, Enofe, Joseph, Favour, Abdulkareem and Martin were sentenced to two-year imprisonment each with an option of a fine of N200,000 each. Hamilton bagged two-year imprisonment or a fine of N100,000.

All the convicts are to undertake in writing to be of good behaviour forthwith.

The charge against Samson reads: “That you Anhwo Samson (aka Anhwo Samcity), Adelakun Abdulkareem (aka Terry Walker), Omebu Happy (aka Christ David), Imaah Joseph (aka Pietro Jones) Enofe Michael (aka Charlotte Crypto B.T.C Dan Trader) and Akpowowo Favour Omanufogho (aka Prof. Melisa Dan) on or about the 10 days of July 2020 at Efemena Close, Ozoro within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court did conspire to defraud by sending electronic messages materially misrepresenting facts to white women with intent to defraud them and thereby committed an offence contrary to Section 27 (1)(b) of the Cybercrime (Prohibition, Prevention, Etc) Act, 2015 and punishable under Section 14(2) the same Act.”

In this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *