Damilola Sunday Olawuyi, 37-year-old youngest academic SAN
Damilola Sunday Olawuyi, 37-year-old youngest academic SAN
Damilola Sunday Olawuyi, 37-year-old youngest academic SAN
The Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti (ABUAD), Professor Damilola Sunday Olawuyi is among the 72 lawyers conferred with the coveted senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN) title by the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee (LPPC).

The LPPC, in a statement made available to newsmen on Friday took the decision at the end of its 143rd plenary session. A graduate of Igbinedion University, Okada, the 37-year-old is the youngest academic to become a SAN and the very first from a private University. Olawuyi earlier made national news in 2006 when he became the first graduate of a private university to achieve a First Class degree at the highly competitive Nigerian Law School. He was promoted to the rank of Full Professor of Law at the age of 32 years, becoming one of the youngest full professors of law in Nigerian history. In 2019, he was appointed as the Deputy Vice Chancellor of ABUAD at the age of 36 years, and has now completed an impressive roster of honors with his elevation to the highly coveted rank of SAN at 37 years of age.

A prolific and highly regarded scholar with expertise in petroleum, mining, energy, environment, and agricultural law, Professor Olawuyi has published over hundred articles, book chapters and books on all aspects of sustainable development in African extractive industries. He has served as a consultant to the United Nations, World Bank, and the UK’s Department for International Department amongst others. He is global Vice Chair of the International Law Association (ILA), Vice President of the Nigerian Branch of the ILA and member of the International Bar Association’s academic advisory group on energy, environment and natural resources. Professor Olawuyi has delivered lectures on energy law in over 40 countries in Europe, North America, Asia, Africa and the Middle East. In 2019, he received the Herbert Smith Freehills Visiting Professorship at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. In 2020, he was appointed by the African Union as a member of its Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Human Rights Violations in Africa.
The new appointees whose swearing-in ceremony has been fixed for December 14 consist of 62 Advocates and 10 from the Academia.

The appointees include Obafemi Adewale, Chukwuemeka Nwagwu, Jacob Ochidi, Mela Nunghe, Lawrence Anga, Akinola Akintoye, Abdullahi Yahaya, Uzoma Azikiwe, Efefiom Ekong, Taiye Oladipo, Babatunde Ogala, Funmilayo Quadri, Jean Anishere, Taiwo Kupolati, Aliyu Saiki, Richard Ahonaruogho, Yusufu Akirikwen, Adedapo Olowu, Olumide Ayeni and Robert Emukpoeruo
Others are Oluwatoyin Bashorun, Chukwudi Obieze, Boma Alabi, Olusegun Fabunmi, Lotanna Okoli, Peter Mrakpo, George Babalola, Osayaba Osagie, Ejike Ezenwa, Jimoh Mumini, Muhammad Ndanusa, Yakubu Hussani-Ruba, Henry Akunebo, Oladapo Akinosun, Doctor Uwadiogbu Ajala, Gideon Kuttu, Ukachi Onuobia, Uwemedimo Nwoko, Joseph Mbadugh and Isiaka Olagunju.
The 22 other practitioners that have been elevated include Nureni Jimoh, Remi Olatubora, Abimbola Mobolaji, Moses Ebute, Nasiru Aliyu, Yusuf Kadiri, Festus Idepefo, Dada Awosika, Afam Osigwe, Musibau Adetunbi, John Majiyagbe, Abdulwahab Muhammed, Fatai Dalley, Chukwuka Ikuazom, Terkura Pepe, Rasheed Adegoke, Hussaini Zakariyau, Tochukwu Maduka, Mahmud Adesina, Tijjani Gazali, Abdul Muhammed and Mohammed Mohammed.
The successful academic appointees comprise Professor Bolaji Owasanoye, Professor Afeisimi Badaiki, Professor Oghenemaro Emiri, Professor Zacchaeus Adangor, Professor Edward Oyewo, Professor Sani Adam, Professor Joseph Abugu, Professor Samson Erugo and Omo-Eboh Ikheowa.

In this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *